EGSG Standing Committees

The EGSG Standing Committees are established to elaborate, develop, improve, and speed the decision process in order to finish a specific task. The EGSG committees provide needed support in seven key areas: 1) the AAG Program, 2) the Ad Hoc Student Committee, 3) the EGSG Awards, 4) the Dissertation Proposal Award, 5) the Paper Competition Award, 6) the Newsletter, and 7) the Website.

Past Chair: Madhuri Sharma, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, 2018-2020 [msharma3@utk.edu]
Chair: Edris Montalvo, Cameron University, 2018-2020 [emontalv@cameron.edu]
Vice Chair: Elizabeth Chacko, George Washington University, 2018-2020 [echacko@gwu.edu]
Secretary-Treasurer: Wan Yu, Binghamton University, 2018-2020 [wyu@binghamton.edu]
Newsletter Editor: Paul McDaniel, Kennesaw State University, 2018-2020 [pmcdan11@kennesaw.edu]

Board of Directors (8 members, including 1 student member)
Jay Newberry, Binghamton University, 2017-2019 [jnewber@binghamton.edu]
Paul McDaniel, Kennesaw State University, 2017-2019 [pmcdan11@kennesaw.edu
Holly Barcus, Macalester College, MN, 2018-2020 [barcus@macalester.edu]
Debanuj Dasgupta, University of Connecticut, 2018-2020, [debanuj.dasgupta@uconn.edu]
Qingfang Wang, University of California, Riverside, 2018-2020, [Qingfang.Wang@ucr.edu]
José Diaz Garayua, Cal State University, Stanislaus, 2018-2020, [jdiazgarayua@csustan.edu]
Weronika Kusek, Northern Michigan University, 2018-2020, [wkusek@nmu.edu]

Standing Committees

EGSG Awards Committee (5 members)
Responsible for Distinguished Ethnic Geography Scholar; Outstanding Ethnic Geography Service; and Outstanding Ethnic Geography Career Awards)
Carlos Teixeira, University of British Columbia-Okanagan, 2017-2019 [carlos.teixeira@ubc.ca]
Stavros Constantinou, Ohio State University, 2017-2019 [constantinou.1@osu.edu]
Emily Skop, University of Colorado, Colorado Springs, 2017-2019 [eskop@uccs.edu]
John Frazier, Binghamton University, 2018-2020, [frazier@binghamton.edu]
Shaolu Yu, Rhodes College, Tennessee, 2018-2020 [shaolu.yu@uconn.edu]

Student Awards Committee Outstanding Ethnic Geography Dissertation Proposal (3 Members)
Selima Sultana, University of North Carolina-Greensboro, 2017-2019 [s_sultan@uncg.edu]
Sean Crotty, Texas Christian University, 2018-2020, [crotty.sean@gmail.com]
Susan Hume, Southern Illinois University, 2018-2020 [shume@siue.edu]

Outstanding Ethnic Geography Student Paper (3 Members)
Kanika Verma, Independent Scholar, 2017-2019 [kanikaverma@outlook.com]
Jay Newberry, Binghamton University, 2017-2019 [jnewber@binghamton.edu]
Michael Webb, Univ. of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC, 2016-2018 [webbmd@email.unc.edu]

AAG Program Committee (3 Members)
Edris Montalvo (Chair), Cameron University, 2018-2020 [emontalv@cameron.edu
Wan Yu, Binghamton University, NY, 2017-2019 [wyu@binghamton.edu]
Fenda Akiwumi, University of South Florida, 2018-2020 [fakiwumi@usf.edu]

Website Committee (2 Members)
Michael Webb, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 2017-2019 [webbmd@email.unc.edu]
Matt Cook, Eastern Michigan University, 2018-2020 [mcook40@emich.edu]

Newsletter Committee
Paul McDaniel, Kennesaw State University, 2018-2020 (Newsletter Editor) [pmcdan11@kennesaw.edu]

Student Committee
Scott Markley, University of Georgia, 2018-2020 [scott.markley@uga.edu]
John Ponstingel, Binghamton University, 2018-2020 [jponsti1@binghamton.edu]
Yining Tan, Arizona State University, 2018-2020, [yining.tan@asu.edu]

Advertisements