EGSG Standing Committees

The EGSG Standing Committees are established to elaborate, develop, improve, and speed the decision process in order to finish a specific task. The EGSG committees provide needed support in seven key areas: 1) the AAG Program, 2) the Ad Hoc Student Committee, 3) the EGSG Awards, 4) the Dissertation Proposal Award, 5) the Paper Competition Award, 6) the Newsletter, and 7) the Website.

Past Chair, Heike Alberts, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh, 2016-2018 [alberts@uwosh.edu]
Chair, Madhuri Sharma, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, 2016-2018 [msharma3@utk.edu]
Vice Chair: Edris Montalvo, Cameron University, 2016-2018 [emontalv@cameron.edu]
Secretary-Treasurer: Elizabeth Chacko, George Washington Univ., 2016-2018 [echacko@gwu.edu]
Newsletter Editor: Paul McDaniel, Kennesaw State University, 2016-2018 [pmcdan11@kennesaw.edu]

Board of Directors (8 members, including 1 student member)
Jay Newberry, Binghamton University, 2017-2019 [jnewber@binghamton.edu]
Paul McDaniel, Kennesaw State University, 2017-2019 [pmcdan11@kennesaw.edu
Carlos Teixeira, University of British Columbia-Okanagan, 2016-2018 [carlos.teixeira@ubc.ca]
Wan Yu, Binghamton University, NY, 2016-2018 [wyu@binghamton.edu]
Dave Kaplan, Kent State Univ., OH, 2016-2018 [dkaplan@kent.edu]
Michael Webb, Univ. of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC, 2016-2018 [webbmd@email.unc.edu]
Holly Barcus, Macalester College, MN, 2016-2018 [barcus@macalester.edu]

Standing Committees

EGSG Awards Committee (5 members)
Responsible for Distinguished Ethnic Geography Scholar; Outstanding Ethnic Geography Service; and Outstanding Ethnic Geography Career Awards)
Sean Crotty, Texas Christian University, 2016-2018 [crotty.sean@gmail.com]
Carlos Teixeira, University of British Columbia-Okanagan, 2017-2019 [carlos.teixeira@ubc.ca]
Stavros Constantinou, Ohio State University, 2017-2019 [constantinou.1@osu.edu]
Emily Skop, University of Colorado, Colorado Springs, 2017-2019 [eskop@uccs.edu]

Student Awards Committee Outstanding Ethnic Geography Dissertation Proposal (3 Members)
Susan Hume, Southern Illinois University, 2016-2018 [shume@siue.edu]
Carlos Teixeira, University of British Columbia-Okanagan, 2016-2018 [carlos.teixeira@ubc.ca]
Selima Sultana, University of North Carolina-Greensboro, 2017-2019 [s_sultan@uncg.edu]

Outstanding Ethnic Geography Student Paper (3 Members)
David Kaplan, Kent State University, 2016-2018 [dkaplan@kent.edu]
Kanika Verma, Independent Scholar, 2017-2019 [kanikaverma@outlook.com]
Jay Newberry, Binghamton University, 2017-2019 [jnewber@binghamton.edu]

AAG Program Committee (3 Members)
Madhuri Sharma, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, 2016-2018 [msharma3@utk.edu]
Wan Yu, Binghamton University, NY, 2017-2019 [wyu@binghamton.edu]
Heather Smith, University of North Carolina, Charlotte, 2016-2018 [HEATSMIT@uncc.edu]

Website Committee (2 Members)
Michael Webb, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 2017-2019 [webbmd@email.unc.edu]
Matt Cook, Eastern Michigan University, 2016-2018 [mcook40@emich.edu]

Newsletter Committee
Paul McDaniel, Kennesaw State University, 2016-2018 (Newsletter Editor) [pmcdan11@kennesaw.edu]
Richard Gioioso, St. Joseph’s University, 2016-2018 (Co-Editor) [rgioioso@sju.edu]

Student Committee
Ana Sanchez, University of Binghamton, 2016-2018 [asanche5@umd.edu]
Scott Markley, University of Georgia, 2016-2018 [scott.markley@uga.edu]
Donghee Koh, University of Tennessee, 2016-2018 [dkoh1@vols.utk.edu]
John Ponstingel, Binghamton University, 2016-2018 [jponsti1@binghamton.edu]

Advertisements