Student Paper Competition

The Ethnic Geography Specialty Group (EGSG) is pleased to announce its annual Student Paper Competition.  Students who have completed a research paper to present at the 2020 AAG meeting in Washington, DC, are eligible to participate in the competition.

The Student Paper Committee will evaluate all submissions based on written clarity, methodological rigor, and overall contribution to ethnic geography scholarship.  The winner will receive a $250 prize, a certificate,  ticket to the AAG Awards Luncheon, and formal recognition at the luncheon and in the EGSG newsletter.

To be considered, students must present their research at the 2020 Annual AAG Meeting. We strongly encourage entrants to attend the EGSG business meeting on Tuesday, April 7th at 7pm.

Papers must be based on original research completed as an undergraduate or graduate student and must adhere to the following:

  1. The topic must be on some aspect of Ethnic Geography.
  2. The text portion should be double-spaced and not exceed 20 pages, and the total length should not exceed 30 pages.
  3. Papers co-authored with faculty are not eligible for this competition. Papers by multiple students, however, are acceptable.
  4. The paper must be sent to Michael Webb at by March 15th at 11:59pm.
  5. The paper will be judged by the committee members on written clarity, methodological soundness, contribution to scholarship in ethnic geography, and overall effectiveness. The paper presentation at the conference will not be considered in the scoring.

For further information, please contact Michael Webb at

The 2020 Student Paper Competition Award Committee members are:

  • Michael Webb (chair), University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
  • Selima Sultana, University of North Carolina-Greensboro
  • Stavros Constantinou, The Ohio State University-Mansfield

EGSG Student Paper Competition Award Recipients

2019Samuel P. Neilson
Hanieh Haji Molana
University of South Carolina
Kent State University
2018Alexandra GiancarloQueens University
2017Katherine HannumKent State University
2017Audrey Lumley-SapanskiPenn State University
2016Scott MarkleyUniversity of Tennessee
2015Shaolu YuUniversity of Connecticut
2014Scott BasfordUniversity of Tennessee
2012Alexandra GiancarloLouisiana State University
2011Yang YangHumboldt State University
2010Melissa KellyUniversity of Uppsala
2008Alan MarcusUniversity of Massachusetts, Amherst
2007Brian DunbarCalifornia State University, Northridge
2005Katherine NashleanasUniversity of Nebraska, Lincoln
2004Qingfang WangUniversity of Georgia
2002Susan HumeUniversity of Oregon
2001Ranu BasuUniversity of Toronto
2000Emily SkopArizona State University
%d bloggers like this: